Assessment Results

  Below is a summary of Somerville's key data (3 year trend) 

National Curriclum

Key Stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.

Age Year Key stage Assessment Average level of attainment
3-4   Early years    
4-5 Reception Early years    
5-6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check  
6-7 Year 2 KS1 Teacher assessments in English, maths and science Expected Standard
7-8 Year 3 KS2    
8-9 Year 4 KS2  Times table testing   
9-10 Year 5 KS2    
10-11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science Expected Standard


School Performance Tables

Below is the link for Somerville School Performance from the Government League Tables.



National Curriculum

Tests and assessments

Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading.

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English spelling, punctuation and grammar (SPAG)
  • Maths (Arithmetic and Reasoning)

The tests are taken when the school chooses. You’ll get the results but they’re only used to help the teacher assess your child’s work.

Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • Maths (Arithmetic and Reasoning)
  • science (only schools selected to participate in a national sample)

The tests are taken on set days in mid-May and last under 5.5 hours. You’ll get the results of these tests usually in July.